Showing posts with label Facebook. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Facebook. Show all posts

Sunday, October 23, 2011

How to: Enable Facebook Timeline Right Now


Last September 22, 2011 Facebook announced Timeline, a crazy (and kind of creepy) omnibus look at everything that has ever happened in your Facebook lifespan. It’s like a story book of your life — or at least the online, documented parts.


Facebook said that Timeline would be on the way for everyone sometime in the coming weeks… which is great and all, for everyone else. You’re the type of person who reads TechCrunch, and are thus likely the type of person who likes their new and shiny things right now.

That’s okay. We can make it happen.

Fortunately, enabling Timeline a bit early isn’t too difficult — but it’s not at all straight forward, either.

You see, Facebook is enabling Timeline early for open graph developers. You, too, can be an open graph developer — even if you’re just looking to dabble.


A few things to note:
  • You probably don’t want to do this unless you’re actually a developer. Expect bugs.
  • Only you will see your timeline at first (unless you decide otherwise), but it will automatically go public after a few days. My timeline was automatically hard-set to go public on September 29th.
  • It seems that if you login into Facebook on another machine, Timeline gets disabled automatically on all of your machines. With that said, it seems you can get back to your timeline (but ONLY after following the steps below) by navigating to http://www.facebook.com/YOURUSERNAMEHERE?sk=timeline
  • You’ll need to have a “verified” account for one of the steps, which means you need a credit card or phone number attached to the account.


Here’s how to do it:


1. Log into Facebook

2. Enable developer mode, if you haven’t already. To do this, type “developer” into the Facebook search box, click the first result (it should be an app made by Facebook with a few hundred thousand users), and add the app.


3. Jump into the developer app (if Facebook doesn’t put you there automatically, it should be in your left-hand tool bar)

4. Create a new app (don’t worry — you wont actually be submitting this for anyone else to see/use). Give your shiny new app any display name and namespace you see fit. Read through and agree to the Platform Privacy agreement. This is the step you need to be verified for.

5. Ensure you’re in your new app’s main settings screen. You should see your app’s name near the top of the page

6. Look for the “Open Graph” header, and click the “Get Started using open graph” link.
Create a test action for your app, like “read” a “book”, or “eat” a “sandwich”


7. This should drop you into an action type configuration page. Change a few of the default settings (I changed the past tense of “read” to “redd” — again, only you can see this unless you try and submit your application to the public directory), and click through all three pages of settings

8. Wait 2-3 minutes

9. Go back to your Facebook homescreen. An invite to try Timeline should be waiting at the top of the page
And you’re done! We’ve seen this work quite a few times now, so it should work without a hitch for just about anyone.

Source: TechCrunch


Saturday, October 22, 2011

New Facebook Scam: Woman Kills Pregnant Woman & Cuts the Baby from Her Dead Body


The link that entitled "Woman Kills Pregnant Woman & Cuts the Baby from Her Dead Body" is another scam that is spreading in Facebook. This site promises to click on the "I Agree" button and unlock to watch a video of a woman kiling a pregnant women.


But the truth is, there is no video at all. By the time you clicked on the "I Agree" button, it secretly shares the link to your Facebook wall so that your friends can also see the "scam message" and it will just link you to another fake website which ask you to complete a set of surveys. This clearly implies that the scammer's intention is to spread and spam the link to the social network.


The hacker's goal here is to virally spread it to Facebook so that they can generate traffics to their websites and earn money from the surveys that you have completed. If you have clicked that message, be sure to remove it in your Facebook wall and please do not share it or if you are concerened, please report it to Facebook Security. This will help others to be protected against these scams.

Please do not click suspicious link and please don't click on a link that lets you watch or unlock something in exchange of a completion of a survey. Please be aware that these websites you are visiting secretly downloads malwares that gathers useful information and send it back to the hackers for hacking.


Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Facebook Warns Users of Clicking Dangerous Links


Facebook has added a security feature that will protect users against malware and phishing by warning them not to click potentially dangerous sites.

The security feature was put in place with the help of security firm WebSense, which will identify dangerous links.

With the security feature, Facebook users will see a pop-up message appear whenever they try to visit another site or attempt to click a link listed in WebSense's database as containing malware. If a link is suspected to be dangerous, the same message will encourage the user to return to the Facebook page or proceed to other webpages at their own risk.

In a blog post, WebsSense said Facebook is a target of scammers because of the social networking site's 800 million users or potential victims. Links are booby-trapped with malware and those who click it will be infected. More users are attacked when the link is shared to other Facebook users.

The infection happens as links disguised as video or other posts usually ask Facebook users to enter their log-in information to be directed to the site.

WebSense has been working with Facebook's security team to keep users safe the past few years. It has integrated its security technology into the Facebook platform to enhance the security setting of the most popular social networking site.

"By providing real-time protection from malware, spyware, inappropriate content, data leaks, and spam, we make it safe for people and businesses to use the web," said WebSense chief technology officer Dan Hubbard, according to CNN.

Credits: IBTimes



.


Wednesday, September 28, 2011

How To: Disable Facebook New Chatbox


Facebook recently have some changes again, including in this change is the new Facebook's Chatbox which is very annoying! Liking pages like '999 million likes to get back the old FB chat' is useless, well I will teach you how to get back the old Facebook chatbox by installing some scripts. Don't worry, it's just a few clicks away!


You just need to install 'Sidebar Disabler' script on your browser, It only works if you are using Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Opera. After you have installed the extension, restart your browser and enjoy using the old Facebook chat-box style!
      • Install 'Sidebar Disabler' for Chrome here
      • Install 'Sidebar Disabler' for Firefox here
      • Install 'Sidebar Disabler' for Opera here




 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | JCpenney Printable Coupons